Denny’s

I love breakfast food, but it’s not often that I get to enjoy a full spread of assorted pastries, eggs, and meats. Lack of time and the need to watch that waistline makes a big breakfast meal a rarity, if not more like a special occasion. However, every now and then I try to fulfill this morning craving.

One place that I go to in particular is Denny’s. Yes, fortunately/unfortunately it’s a franchise. They have their standard daily menu with traditional specials like the “All American Slam” or “Moons Over My Hammy” (fact of the day: that’s a play on words, based on a song called “Moon Over Miami”), but they have also been coming out with seasonal specials. Last time I went was back in December and I had this:

image

Two eggs sunny-side up, two sausages (I don’t get the hype over bacon?), hash browns, and two cinnamon pancakes drizzled in maple syrup. To me, this is the perfect breakfast. It’s an awesome mix of sweet and savory with fluffy (not flat) buttermilk pancakes,  deliciously salty sausages, and warm eggs oozing of creamy yolks. Yummy! The only thing missing in the picture is a big steaming cup of orange pekoe tea or freshly squeezed orange juice. I like to go to this particular location in Toronto because they always make the hash browns super crispy and that’s the way they should be. That’s a lesson for all breakfast joints – nobody wants mushy hash browns!

It’s been a while since I’ve been there. Perhaps it’s time I make a visit to check out what’s new on their menu.

Denny’s
Multiple locations in Canada and U.S.A.

Leave a Reply

