Wilbur Mexicana Restaurant

My friend came from abroad for a visit and I asked her what she missed eating most living on the other side of the world. She said she would love to eat Mexican food because apparently it’s hard to find a good joint in Taiwan (potential business idea?).

I scoured the internet to find one and remembered a colleague of mine highly recommended Wilbur Mexicana Restaurant, a Mexican-style restaurant located in Toronto. After looking over their menu and some reviews, I decided to give it a whirl.

When you place your order there, they give you a number to set at your table so they can bring it to you. Maybe I’m morbid, but I think that the picture is the cutest thing ever!

image

To start, we ordered a plate of chips, guacamole, and fundido to share, which is essentially a nacho platter with guacamole and cheese dip:

image

A fundido!

I’ve said it before but I’ll say it again – you can’t go wrong with guacamole! The cheese dip on the other hand wasn’t as great. I found the texture very grainy and it just lost its appeal when it got cold. I adore spice in my food, which is what the cheese dip had but I’d recommend staying away from it if you’re not a huge fan of heat.

Next came my order of tacos. I tried a bulgogi taco and a fish taco, which also came with some additional tortilla chips:

image

The bulgogi (Korean style marinated beef) taco was topped with Sriracha sauce, purple cabbage, pear slivers,  chunks of beef, and sesame seeds. I tend to love bulgogi, but it didn’t taste like an authentic bulgogi and sadly, the meat was cold when I got it. It wasn’t as good as I had hoped. It didn’t help that the red cabbage also made it very bitter, but I did like the addition of fresh pear slices!

The second one had mahi mahi fish, cabbage, pico di gallo, red cabbage, and chipotle crèma. This one was a lot better. The fish was crispy and the sauce was delicious. It’s considered one of the top three popular ones and I can see why!

I really enjoyed this place. It’s very casual yet funky looking. The prices are quite reasonable as well. Just get there early. Once peak dinner time started, the line grew quite long and it was hard to find a table.

Wilbur Mexicana Restaurant
552 King St West
Toronto, Ontario M5V 1M3
Canada
416-792-1878

Leave a Reply

