That Scary Fish in the Ocean…

When I went to tour San Francisco, my friend brought me to this little Japanese restaurant. It was known for the fresh toro (tuna), which was definitely fresh and delicious. However, I also had something I never knew existed before:

IMG_2286

This is the liver of an angler fish (also known as monk fish). Do you recall that scary looking fish in the movie Finding Nemo? The one with the little light bulb on its head and the super razor sharp teeth? That’s what this came from. It really shouldn’t shock me, but it amazes me that someone actually dove down deep into the ocean and caught these creepy looking fish to make this beautiful little paté. Have you ever tried this interesting pâté before?

Leave a Reply

