Zucca

It’s not often that I get pasta when I go to a restaurant. It’s not that I don’t like it, but I feel like most restaurants don’t make quality pasta dishes. In fact, I feel like most pour dry pasta out of a prepackaged bag into a vat of boiling water and sell it off as if they made it themselves. It’s disappointing. However, when I saw zucca (which is an Italian word for pumpkin or butternut squash) on the menu at Scaddabush, my gut instinct told me to try it.

20150415_202622

They always say to trust your gut instinct and I’m glad I did. The zucca ravioli was so fresh you could tell it was a world of a difference in comparison to those mediocre Italian restaurants. The butternut squash filling was so smooth and creamy. The ravioli was sitting on a bed of hazelnut butter cream sauce and was topped off with grated Grana Padano cheese, roasted butternut squash cubes and fried sage. It was just a delicious mélange of flavours. If you ever get a chance to go to Scaddabush, I would highly recommend this dish.

Scaddabush
Various locations in Toronto and the G.T.A.

 

One thought on “Zucca

Leave a Reply

