Msemen

I would be lying if I said I knew how to properly pronounce msemen, but what I can say is it’s a pan-fried square pancake that I got to try when I travelled to Morocco. It has a flaky texture, yet it is also similar to a crêpe. It was served as part of our breakfast meal at a riad (more commonly known to us westerners as a guesthouse).

DSC03942

Msemen

It came with a side of condiments and eggs sunny side up. You have the choice of dipping it in jams, spreading cheese on it (like la vache qui rit, which sits on the right), adding honey, mixing it with the runny egg yolks or eating it plain. The riad also provided us with some tea and freshly squeezed orange juice and I must say, as simple as it was, it was a delicious meal!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Msemen

Leave a Reply

