Samosa Me!

I don’t know about you, but Indian food is my nemesis. I have never been able to figure it out and it seems so intimidating because of all the exotic and unfamiliar spices. I had a conversation with one of my colleagues about Indian cooking and she explained to me that it is quite simple to make curries and even samosas. While I don’t recall all the ingredients she mentioned, she did make it sound simple. Several days later after our discussion (and out of the kindness of her heart), she brought in some of her homemade samosas to share with everyone.

img1460335092105

Homemade Samosas

My colleague made two types: one with a meat filling and one with a veggie filling. Both were delicious and of course, nothing beats homemade goods!

For anyone unfamiliar with samosas, they are Indian snacks or appetizers that bode well at any party. They are normally triangular, come in different sizes and are quite cheap to buy. The most common ones are filled with potato, peas and spices and the outer skin is crispy and flaky. Traditionally they are fried, but these days you can find places that bake them too. Sometimes you can even dip them into a tamarind sauce or a chutney. In India, they are considered street eats but in Canada we often have them at potlucks, as snacks or even use them for charitable fundraisers.  Although I have yet to venture into the world of samosa making, I’m hoping one day I will be able to make some as good as my colleague’s. One day!

 

7 thoughts on “Samosa Me!

Leave a Reply

