I Am Going Bananas (Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe)

…at least that’s what I say to my bananas before I leave the house. OK, well not really. I’m just being silly. 🙂

When I was in middle school, my home economics teacher taught us how to make banana muffins. From then on, I made those so frequently that we had them almost every week. It has been years since that home economics class, but I was reminded of those times when I found some bananas lying around that were “bake-worthy”. I decided to find an online recipe to make some banana muffins.

image

Bakeworthy bananas

While most people are grossed out by the look of “rotting” bananas, it’s best to use this type because it’s super sweet in comparison to just-ripe bananas.

The recipe I found looked quite vague, but I went with it considering it had five stars and over 2,500 reviews. I put my own little spin to it, but these are the ingredients that the recipe originally asked for:

  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 large bananas
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup butter

First, I preheated the oven to 350ºC. Then I mixed all the dry ingredients together (all-purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt) in a bowl. The recipe asked for three large bananas, but since mine were small I mashed 3 3/4 bananas together in a separate bowl.

image

The banana mash

When the bananas were mashed, I added sugar, egg and butter to the same bowl and used a hand mixer to blend it together.

image

Adding eggs, sugar and cubes of butter

The recipe instructed to melt the butter, but I just cut them into small cubes. After all the wet ingredients were mixed together, I gradually added the first bowl of dry ingredients into the second bowl of wet ingredients while mixing in between.

image

Banana batter

Periodically, scrape the sides of the bowl with a spatula otherwise you may not thoroughly mix all the ingredients together. The dry mixture tends to stick on the walls of the bowl, so you’ll need to manually include it in the mix (Tip: don’t over-mix, otherwise you’ll have some tough muffins to contend with).

Line a muffin tray or coat it with butter, oil or non-stick spray. I choose to use cupcake liners to ease the post-baking cleaning process. 🙂

image

Lining those tins

The recipe didn’t say how high to fill the batter, but I filled it 1/3 high because I wanted smaller muffins. I also decided to add some semi-sweet chocolate chips last minute (an alternative could be chopped pecans or walnuts).

image

Now we have chocolate chip banana muffins ready for the oven

I guess it depends on how much batter you fill the muffin tins with, but I watched them like a hawk to ensure they didn’t overcook. Around the 20 minute mark, that’s when I did the toothpick test to make sure they were done (The toothpick test is when you use a toothpick and poke it through a muffin to see if it’s cooked. If any batter sticks to the toothpick, you probably need to put it back into the oven for another few minutes. This works on cakes too).

image

Yummy chocolate chip banana muffins

When it’s ready, take the muffin tray(s) out of the oven. Most people probably leave them in the muffin tins to cool off, but because it’s hot it’s still cooking. To prevent over-baking your muffins (or any other baked goods), move it over to a wired rack.

image

Cool down time

We anxiously waited for the muffins to cool down so we could try them. The scent of them baking in the oven was heavenly and it was hard not to eat them right away. Also, fresh, home baked goods are always exciting.

image

The best part – time to eat!

Even though they were decent muffins, I found that it was lacking something. I’m thinking perhaps the original recipe needed to add a bit of oil somewhere. However, I’ll know that for next time. The recipe also makes only 12 muffins, unless you make them a bit smaller like I did. Happy baking!

Click here for the original recipe.

3 thoughts on “I Am Going Bananas (Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins Recipe)

Leave a Reply

