Chicken and Waffles

When I first learned about Southern comfort food, I always held the belief that combining chicken and waffles is a weird pairing. To this day, I still do but I had it at this quaint little restaurant. I love fried chicken and I love waffles, so it can’t be bad together, right?

Chicken-and-waffles-Mississauga-Toronto

Chicken and waffles

I concluded that it’s still an odd combination of food for me, but it was interesting to eat. Soul food is supposed to be comforting, but I found the addition of gravy a bit off-putting because it ruined the crunchiness of the chicken. Flavour-wise, I was confused. I never grew up eating sweet and savoury together, so it was odd to me. However, I did enjoy what was left of the crunchy fried chicken. Deeeelicious! It had a nice level of spice to it and you could tell the waffles were freshly made, which is always a bonus (nobody likes frozen waffles). The side of maple syrup was also a great addition to the dish, adding more dimension to the plate (despite my perplexed palate).

So where did chicken and waffles originate? According to Tori Avey, it first appeared in America in the 1600s but it’s when it eventually made its way into a Harlem restaurant that it became more prominent. As a compromise for customers that came when it was too late for dinner but too early for breakfast, they got the as the best of both worlds. Although Tori claims that the two are a dynamic duo, I think I still prefer to have the two items eaten separately. Or perhaps having them together with a side of gravy instead of on it would work? If you want to try the duo, here’s a place that has high ratings for it.

Door FiftyFive
55 Lakeshore Rd East
Mississauga, ON L5G 1C9
Canada
905-990-7200

 

Leave a Reply

