Krokiety – A Different Type of Croquette

I’m accustomed to croquettes being little round balls of meat or veggies that have been rolled around in bread crumbs and fried. However I recently tried a krokiety – in which the food stand referred to as a Polish croquette.

I was confused because unlike the typical croquette, it was rectangular (sorry, the sunlight sort of overexposed the first picture) and long.

This krokiety was filled with kapustą (cabbage) and grzybami (mushrooms). It was interesting to eat because I interpreted it more as a fried crêpe that has been stuffed with veggies than a croquette. It wasn’t as crunchy as I hoped it to be and it somewhat reminded me of Hot Stuffs (not that that’s a bad thing). I’m sure there are people who eat several krokietys in one sitting to compose a full meal (I saw one girl eat three), but I would probably treat it as a side dish or eat it as a snack. The interesting part is I was informed that the dough is similar to a blintz batter, but when assembled it is further dunked into an egg wash and then breadcrumbs before being fried. My conclusion? It sound like an easy enough recipe to try and it’s something I’ve never had before. I can see this going in so many different directions. As they say, everything tastes better fried. If you have ever tried a krokiety, let me know what you think. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Krokiety – A Different Type of Croquette

Leave a Reply

