Four Loko – Black Cherry

When it’s a long weekend, my friends like to get together, play games, chat, eat and have a few drinks. This past weekend for Canada Day, we wanted to try something new so I scouted around our local alcohol store and found a brew called Four Loko.

It had an interesting label to it, so I decided why not? It came in a number of flavours including fruit punch, peach, watermelon, grape and black cherry (though apparently there’s a lemonade and a strawberry lemonade too). I decided to get black cherry. It comes in a huge 695 mL can containing 8% alcohol, so I refused to drink the whole thing on my own (I’m not that “loco”). I split it amongst a few of my friends and we did a little taste test session. The consensus was overall good, but the beverage was also quite sweet (I looked up the sugar content after and discovered a can contained 60g of sugar – that’s madness!). It’s fizzy for a “premium malt beverage” and the alcohol was heavily masked by the “natural and artificial flavour” of black cherry. I would probably get it again, but I would definitely avoid drinking the whole thing on my own. It’s too much sugar for one sitting.

As a side note, during our rendez-vous one of my friends brought up an interesting tidbit about Four Loko. I picked the drink randomly, but he told us he read something about it making people loopy because it originally had woodworm in it. For those who don’t know, woodworm is often associated with absinthe, a psychoactive drug and hallucinogen (though this was apparently an exaggeration because the effects were due to people ingesting metals or something of the sort). Either way, the woodworm was eventually removed and it is now what it is today. However, visiting the Four Loko website shows plenty of stories of how people ended up “loko” after drinking this. Whether my friend’s story is true or not remains to be seen, but I like how a gathering of food and drinks always brings up interesting stories. Cheers! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Four Loko – Black Cherry

Leave a Reply

