Ghoraybey

I’ve always been curious about those beautifully decorated cookies and pastries in the window sill of a local Lebanese store that I pass by frequently. I decided to try one called ghoraybey.

image

They come in miniature size and regular size and have a signature pistachio nut on each. I ended up getting the bigger ones that are looped because being the day of Ramadan when I went, the mini ones were swiped the quickest being more popular. However, I learned that these cookies can also come in different shapes when people make them at home.

image

Ghoraybeh are the Mediterranean equivalent of butter cookies (though some call them sugar cookies). Biting into them, they aren’t overly sweet and have a very powdery texture to them that kind of melts in your mouth. It is white, soft and crumbly because it is predominantly made with ghee (clarified butter) and powdered sugar.

image

I found these cookies a bit fragile and the flavours to be very subtle, where most of the flavour comes in the aftertaste. However, I can see ghoraybey pairing well with a nice cup of tea and I do like the addition of the signature pistachio. It’s a good snack for those that don’t want anything too sweet. And I’m a bit late, but Eid Mubarak 🙂

3 thoughts on “Ghoraybey

Leave a Reply

