Blueberry Beer

Maybe I’m not well acquainted with beer, but I recently discovered that there’s a bunch of fruit flavoured beers out there – lemon, orange, grapefruit and even watermelon are just to name a few. The one I tried recently was the Waterloo Blueberry Weizenbier.

Weizenbier is basically two words mashed together to translate as wheat beer. Being born in Canada, of course I would try a Canadian beer “bursting with flavour from the blueberry capital of Canada’s East Coast” (I think this is referring to the province of Nova Scotia).

Popping open the nicely labelled metal can, I took a whiff to see if I smelled blueberries. Definitely smelled blueberries.

Then I took a swig of the cold and crisp ale in anticipation of a flood of blueberry flavour to rush into my mouth. I was a bit disappointed. It tasted like regular beer to me, but there was minimal bitterness to it which is good.

The aftertaste? Not much at all, though I felt like I would breathe blueberries here and there.

Overall, it wasn’t that exciting. I was hoping to get more of the blueberry flavour popping out of the ale than the taste of full-fledged beer.

My search for the perfect summer beer continues! So far, Straw Ber Ritas are still the winner in my books.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry Beer

Leave a Reply

