Milanesa – Mexican Style

I love Mexican food. The spices, tacos, burritos, quesadillas, tortillas, churros, the guacamole….you can’t go wrong! So, when I popped into this little family owned Mexican restaurant I was excited! However, what I wasn’t really excited about was the fact KD ordered a sandwich. As some of you may already know from my previous rants about sandwiches, I’m not a fan. However, the sandwich we got was called Milanesa and it was shockingly delicious. Let me explain.   

Milanesa

It’s a 12 inch steak sandwich that came with a side of tortilla chips and salsa. On the exterior, it just looks like a plain sandwich with fillings. The interesting part is Milanesa refers to the style of cooking where you bread the meat, but there was no such thing in this sandwich so I’m not really sure where they got that name from. Perhaps inspiration from the type of bun?

Anyway, biting into this sandwich the bread was surprisingly soft and fresh despite being mildly toasted. It was chock filled with chunks of grilled steak, cheese, pico de gallo, guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes, mayonnaise, jalapenos, onions, cilantro and Mexican spices. It was like a fiesta in my mouth every time I took a bite. It was super flavourful and the combination of ingredients mixed well together. My only complaint is that some of the meat was a bit chewy, but that can be easily remedied with a better cut of meat. Despite being a sandwich hater, I would definitely go back for this one. Yum yum! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Milanesa – Mexican Style

  1. ggstratton says:

    Sounds great. We are in Texas and here milanesa just means that the meat is sliced really thin. I have started buying more meat like this because it is easier to keep tender when cooking it. Glad you found a sandwich that you love. Have a great day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rhythm says:

    I am a Mexican cuisine fan as well, and I love having and making sandwiches as well 😀 I am going to try to recreate this one in my kitchen while omitting on meat. This is a real treat for eyes. Thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

