Oreo Brownies (Recipe)

I’m probably more of a baker at heart than a cook. Part of that might stem from the fact I didn’t really have access to a kitchen until the non-peak hours of the day growing up, so I naturally gravitated towards baking as an outlet when the kitchen was empty. Afternoon, evening, night time…baking anytime of the day I was able to, really. One recipe I came across was an Oreo brownie recipe, though I caby remember where I found it. I’m sure you can be creative and put a different type of cookie or filler, but essentially this simple recipe calls for a batch of brownie mix and some Oreo cookies.

I went with a makeshift tray by making a 9 x 9 wall with aluminum foil for easy cleaning (for the life of me, I couldn’t find the small 9 x 9 pan that day…lol). Then, I greased the foil so that the brownies wouldn’t stick with some butter. Once the brownie batter was prepared according to the instructions on the box, I poured half of it onto the baking sheet and spread it out so that the bottom layer was completely covered. However, you are free to improvise with your favourite brownie recipe too. Here’s the fun part – lining the Oreo cookies.

I tried to fill the surface of the brownie batter so that each bite would get some Oreo (if not a whole one). I’m sure you could place it in a way that would maximize the space, but the OCD for me wanted straight, uniform lines. 🙂

Once the Oreo cookies were placed on top of the batter, I added the remaining batter on top and spread it out so that the cookies were fully covered. For those unknowing, there’s a secret Oreo hiding inside of their brownie. 🙂

Bake it according to the brownie recipe, possibly adding some more time if it’s still wet and uncooked (do the toothpick test!). Just be careful not to over bake them or they’ll become really dry (though nothing a glass of milk can’t fix). When it’s done baking, let it cool down a bit before cutting into it so the brownies settle and harden a bit.

Voilà! Oreo brownies with a glass of milk or a nice cup of tea…it’s a good afternoon snack or awesome way to end a day or a meal. Enjoy!

 

5 thoughts on “Oreo Brownies (Recipe)

Leave a Reply

