Niagara Wine Festival – North African Beef Curry with Stone Fruit Chili

Niagara Region in Canada has a wine festival every year. It runs for about three weeks and allows you to try little morsels of food that pair well with the wine. While I do like wine, I actually went more for the food. Buying a passport allows you to try eight different wineries.

Although the food was good at most of the wineries, the sampling that stuck out the most was the North African beef curry with stone fruit* chili topped with a garlic cream sauce. It was accompanied with a pinot noir wine. More could have been done with the presentation, but don’t let looks deceive you. This was a phenomenal sampling and it took me by surprise. It’s not often I find something that literally makes my eyes bulge out of my eye sockets. It was just that astounding!

Since I have been to Morocco, I have a bit of familiarity with some North African cuisines like bastilla and tangine but I can’t quite say I’ve had any curry like this before. It had strong, aromatic flavours and was filled with an assortment of spices like cinnamon, cumin and coriander. The beef was so soft it just melted in my mouth and everything was just a beautiful mélange of herbs and spices. It was such a small cup but if given the chance, I would have definitely gone for seconds (and thirds)!

I really wanted the recipe because it tasted so good. Although the staff member couldn’t provide full measurements and instructions on how to make this delicious curry, she did provide me with the list of ingredients. At least it’s a starting point! So for you, my friends, I share with you a list of ingredients for this lovely beef curry. I’m sure it will mix well with rice or even naan.

  • Beef Shoulder
  • Minced Garlic
  • Smoked paprika
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger
  • Curry Powder
  • Coriander
  • Cumin
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Peach
  • Tomato paste
  • Diced tomato
  • Mint
  • Cilantro
  • Beef stock
  • Lentils
  • Turnips
  • Onion

If you are able to come up with a good recipe for this, feel free to post a link to it on my blog. 🙂

*Note that stone fruit refers to the type of fruits with pits like plums, peaches, apricots, lychees and cherries.

 

One thought on “Niagara Wine Festival – North African Beef Curry with Stone Fruit Chili

Leave a Reply

