One Bowl, Two Loaves: Fresh Bread

I remember I used to have a friend that lived near a bread factory and every time I passed by, I would be engulfed by the delicious smells of freshly baked bread. I’m not a huge fan of those store bought, prepackaged loaves of bread but when it’s fresh like artisan bread I’m ready to inhale the whole loaf. This may also explain why I dislike sandwiches so much! Recently, I had the pleasure of watching a family friend make fresh bread from scratch AND without a bread maker.

The interesting part was seeing her use fresh yeast (and by fresh, I mean it was frozen) as opposed to the typical packages of quick-rise yeast. I personally didn’t even know what “fresh” yeast looked like until now. As you can see, they’re completely different. One is a block and the other is in powder form.

 

Long story short, she used milk, warm water, flour and yeast to make the bread. I assisted with mixing the dough and I tell you, without a Kitchen Aid mixer it’s really tough. You have to really get in there and you can definitely build some arm muscles doing this!

When you’re done mixing, you have to cover the bowl with a cloth and let the dough rise. When it rises like the picture below, you have to mix it again and let it rise a second time. For the third time, you can mix it again in the bowl and then pour it into your baking containers to bake.

While it’s baking in the oven, you have this lovely scent of fresh baked bread wafting around the house. It’s heavenly. And when it’s done, you get two fresh loaves of bread. All you need to do is slice them and you can make it as thick or thin as you like.

There was one tip of advice I was given about making bread. If the crust is hard, just add a light sprinkle of water on the top surface to soften it. Who knew?

I think I’m going to try and make my own bread. It does look and smell more appealing than the prepackaged ones you buy at the store. The most daunting part is waiting and mixing the dough, but otherwise it’s quite easy. Plus I can use my Kitchen Aid mixer. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

