Macaroni and Cheese Bites

A few things I have been pondering recently:

  • What should I cook next?
  • How should I carve/decorate my Halloween pumpkin?
  • How do they get the batter around the macaroni and cheese so smoothly?

I went to this restaurant recently and my eyes darted straight towards the macaroni and cheese bites. For the love of cheese, I had to try it! This is what they came out looking like:

Served on a basket with a picnic table cloth designed piece of paper, they were perfectly flat squares of golden brown nuggets but how? I came up with a few hypotheses before I got that “Ah ha!” moment – Refrigeration! Make a batch of macaroni and cheese, refrigerate it, and then cut out square pieces prior to dipping it into an egg mixture and bread crumbs. The cold temperature helps solidify the pasta and cheese, therefore making it easier to handle and bread!

These little macaroni and cheese bites were so delicious. They weren’t super cheesy, like mozzarella sticks, but the creamy chili aïoli sauce made up for that. It was spicy and smokey and dipping the bites into the sauce only amped up the flavour of the components. Yum! If you have a good macaroni and cheese recipe, feel free to mix it up a bit and make these little golden brown yummies.

4 thoughts on “Macaroni and Cheese Bites

Leave a Reply

