Growing Lettuce without a Garden

I heard that you can grow a lot of things without any soil. As a kid, I remember growing those little alfalfa sprouts as a science experiment back in elementary school. All you needed was some sprouts and a damp paper towel. Then, I learned about the avocado trick where you take an avocado seed and place it over water on a cup suspended by toothpicks. You will see roots eventually starting to grow from it, which can then be planted to become a tree. The new one I learned about recently is with lettuce. You know those stumps that we usually throw away into the garbage? Apparently that’s all you need along with a container and water (and maybe a little TLC ;)).

It took me a few stumps before I was able to get it to grow, but when it started I was amazed at how quickly it started to sprout.

Will I be eating those leaves? Probably not, but it is exciting to see life growing from something that most people would just toss away…especially since I don’t possess a green thumb! Plus, for those who live in an apartment or condo, this is a great way to do a little “gardening” and add some fresh greenery into the home. And it may also be a fun experiment to do with the kiddies to teach them a bit about gardening. 🙂

Tips:

  • Add just enough water to cover the stump. If you add more it will drown the plant and it will die
  • Remove the outer leaves that have gone bad. You don’t want those trying to fight for the nutrients
  • Change the water every day. If the water is yellow, it probably means there aren’t any nutrients left for the plant to feed off of.

If you need a quick and easy recipe using lettuce, check out my Lettuce Spettuce recipe. Have fun!

 

4 thoughts on “Growing Lettuce without a Garden

  1. annika says:

    Wow! I tried the same with shoots of coriander that still had the roots attached… it didn’t work out all that well (but I wasn’t changing the water everyday)… I will try this with lettuce now… it will be fun for the kids…. thanks! Why can’t you eat these leaves?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

