Chicken Tikka Masala

Chicken tikka masala is probably one of my favourite Indian dishes. Tikka means small pieces and masala means spice blend, so put them together and you get this lovely dish of small pieces of chicken marinated in a spicy blend. Specifically, it’s a creamy tomato-based curry with pieces of juicy chicken chunks.

Although I associate it with Indian food (it’s the only place I can find it), it’s supposedly a spinoff of the infamous butter chicken dish. Don’t get me wrong, I love both but I can see how they are comparable. I can’t recall where exactly (maybe on the Food Network), but I read somewhere that chicken tikka masala was created because of a British man. He asked the cook to make him something to eat, but something without spices. From this request spawned chicken tikka masala. This completely explains why the two have tasted so similar to me for the longest time!

Like many curries, it pairs well with basmati rice or naan. If the only Indian curry you eat right now is butter chicken, try experimenting with another curry like chicken tikka masala. I’m sure you won’t regret it. πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Chicken Tikka Masala

Leave a Reply

