Happy Hippo Chocolate

As adults, we tend to forget to laugh and have fun in life. I was at a conference a few years ago and the speaker said that a child laughs on average over 1,000 times a day (I can’t recall the exact number, but it was some ridiculously high number…maybe even 2,000+). In comparison, he said an adult only laughs twice a day. That’s crazy! Life can be stressful, but it’s necessary to change things up now and then to keep yourself happy! For me, I do silly things (it helps when you have a goofy partner) and travel. Even though it’s not always possible to go abroad, I like to explore around me to search for new and interesting things – one of these things is of course food! Recently in my searches, I found this little European store and stumbled upon these chocolates called Kinder Happy Hippo.

Ferrero makes some great chocolate products, including their infamously packaged gold and brown wrapped Ferrero Rocher chocolates and Nutella. They also happen to be the makers that produce these cute little edible critters.

They come with five individually wrapped pieces in a box, which makes it easy to bring as a snack. Despite looking fragile, they’re pretty durable hippos.

Similar to a Ferrero Rocher, these chocolates have a light, crispy wafer and are filled with a chocolaty hazelnut spread. However, it is also mixed with a white vanilla cream and the outer edges are coated with white and milk chocolate crumbs. Taking a bite of an adorable little hippo (I’m not going to lie, I felt bad biting it’s head off) was like entering chocolaty heaven. It’s so good! It’s soft, yet crispy and bursting with creamy chocolate on the inside.

While I’m sure these Happy Hippo chocolates were targeting children, they definitely got my attention. They’re cute, they’re delicious and highly addictive. 

Plus I couldn’t stop laughing (goal achieved) while I was eating them because they’re a bit goofy looking (in a good way) – the head is bigger than the body and biting off the snout first reveals a worried looking bald guy with his mouth open.

Or maybe it’s just my imagination running wild? Anyway, if you find these hiding in a store, grab some! They’re really good! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

