Arroz verde

I am not a huge fan of plain, white rice. It’s bland, it’s boring and it’s just extra carbohydrates on its own. The only exception I can make to this is when there is a lovely stew, curry or sauce to mix it with. However, when it’s flavoured rice it’s a different story. Biriyani, fried rice, rice n’ peas…tasty!

When I was in Caribbean, I came across something called arroz verde, which translate as”green rice”. While it’s not always fully green in colour, it’s flavoured with green herbs which gives it that hue and name.

Even though recipes differ from country to country, the star for this dish is usually cilantro (also known as coriander) and many recipes call for chicken broth, onions, butter, etc. However, the green can come from other leafy greens like spinach or basil. It’s a type of rice that seems to pair well with a bunch of dishes.

Despite being rice, the cilantro makes it feel fresher and lighter…which is good, being in the hot tropics!

I can’t tell you enough how much I fell in love with this deliciously prepared rice. I didn’t, but if I had a stomach large enough I could probably eat a whole pot!  

 

4 thoughts on “Arroz verde

Leave a Reply

