A Swedish Festive Drink – Dryck Julmust

When I saw Dryck Julmust at Ikea, I was anticipating something that tasted like Dr. Pepper or Coca Cola or Pepsi. Although I’m not a big fan of sodas, I was parched so I decided to give it a try. I really needed a sugar boost to give me energy to finish off my shopping for the day.

Taking a swig of this so called “Swedish festive drink”, I was pleasantly surprised to find out it tasted nothing like those typical carbonated drinks. Jul means Christmas and Must means unfermented berries or fruits. Put them together and you get this delicious unfermented fruity Christmas drink. It tasted somewhat like root beer with a tinge of fruitiness. Looking at the ingredients, it contains carbonated water, sugar, water, must (caramel hops flavour, malt flavour, water, citric acid, artificial flavour) and sodium benzoate. It’s not too sweet and it isn’t too fizzy, which is a good thing in my books. And I can’t really explain it, but it does taste very festive. It was a good sugar boost to get my shopping done. Apparently julmust quite popular in Sweden and is only around during the Christmas holidays, so if you are able to find it in a local store, try and snatch one up to give it a try. I highly recommend it. Plus it got me into holiday shopping mode and now I am done. 🙂

 

One thought on “A Swedish Festive Drink – Dryck Julmust

Leave a Reply

