A Taste of the Caribbean – Tortuga Rum Cake

I don’t want to say I regret a lot of things in life, but there are a few. Like missing out on going to Greece (twice) and not purchasing this rum cake I saw when I was in Jamaica (even though it’s actually from the Cayman Islands – somewhere I have yet to explore).

Thankfully, in this wonderful country called Canada, we get many things imported and I was able to find it here! When I bought it, the cashier was shocked I found one because she said they sell like hot cakes. This only made me more excited about finding it! It comes in a bunch of different flavours, like chocolate and key lime but I had to go with the golden original. Opening the hexagon shaped package, it revealed this small, round, bundt shaped cake with walnuts on top.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect, but when I cut the cake it was super soft and felt really moist. It was a surprise to me, given that it was a prepackaged cake. However, it was vacuumed sealed!

Taking a bite (holy mackerel!), I was surprised at how strong the rum flavours were in this cake. The packaging indicates it contains less than half of 1% alcohol (specifically, aged 5 year old gold rum), but I felt like I took a shot in one bite. I’ve never had Tortuga brand rum before, but I’m going to assume it’s quite strong like this cake. It’s very soft and very moist, but it is definitely a rum cake. They recommend serving it à la mode (with a scoop of vanilla ice cream) and I can see that being really good. The contrast of the sweet ice cream with the otherwise strong alcoholic flavoured rum cake? I see a match made in heaven. Yum!

Leave a Reply

