Tres Leches with Shortbread

If you have a sweet tooth, you will probably love the taste of tres leches. It’s Spanish for “three milk” because it’s made with condensed milk, evaporated milk and whole milk. It has a thick consistency and is gooey and sweet. Recently, I discovered a little treat at a cafe upon my travels down South – shortbread with tres leche.

20161108_122342

This pastry consisted of two flat, round pieces of shortbread which “sandwiched” the tres leche in between. I cannot tell you how good this little treat was with a hot cup of tea. It was just a bit difficult to eat because the powdered sugar would fly everywhere and the shortbread tended to crumble. However, that didn’t stop me from eating these. The taste still lingers in my mouth and I really wish I had one now. I guess I’ll have to try making this on my own one day. I already have the shortbread part down, it’s just making them into circles instead of squares and adding some tres leche in between. Yum yum! 🙂

 

One thought on “Tres Leches with Shortbread

Leave a Reply

