Calimocho & Bambus – An Unexpected Alcoholic Drink

All roads definitely lead to food. Whether it be at the grocery store, while you’re travelling around the world or even having a conversation with a friend. I remember talking to a colleague and it somehow led to a topic about alcohol. He told me in Croatia, they mix wine and soda pop to create a drink called “bambus” (it’s apparently know as calimocho in other parts of the world as well). The first thing that came to my mind was “disgusting!”, followed by “that just sounds like it would destroy the wine”. He agreed, but you know me, I had to try it for myself.

It’s simple to make. If you decide to use red wine, you would mix it with equal parts coca cola. If you use white wine, you would mix it with ginger ale. I decided to use a savignon blanc wine and mixed it with ginger ale.

My conclusion? It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. The ginger ale made the wine sweeter and it surprisingly mixed pretty well with it. Although I don’t think I intend on mixing soda every time I have wine, I think it’s a good way to “extend” the life of wine and bring some life back into it. It also makes it sweeter and a bit more bubbly. Have you ever tried bambus? What did you think?

 

5 thoughts on “Calimocho & Bambus – An Unexpected Alcoholic Drink

  1. Sean JS Chen says:

    Just like French toast was made to salvage stale bread, calimoxo was made to salvage bad or spoiled wine.

    And just like the best French toast can be sublime and people intentionally make it with perfectly good bread, I argue that calimoxo should be made from perfectly fine wine. Not to mention too, it can be equally fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

