Mezes, Ketokeftedes and Taramosalatas – Oh My!

I don’t recall if I ever mentioned this before, but I missed out on going to Greece. Not once, but twice because of work. To this day I still wonder what it would have been like to go to there, especially since it was before the whole economical crisis. In addition to missing out on seeing the ancient ruins and swimming around in the beautiful blue waters, I missed out on eating the food!

For now, I have to settle with living vicariously through friends that have travelled there and wandering into seemingly authentic Greek restaurants. And by that, I mean the non-franchised kind. I am fortunate that there seem to be many family-owned Greek restaurants to choose from. It’s also helpful when there are many immigrants from Greece and even our own little Greektown. 🙂

Although souvlaki (cubes of beef, chicken, lamb or pork skewers) is probably one of the most well known Greek dishes out there, there is also spanakopita (spinach pie), baklava and many other tasty dishes too.

One such dish is known as ketokeftedes, which are little fritters made with grated courgettes (aka zucchini) that can come in the form of flat patties or balls. They are lightly fried, so they are soft and mushy rather than crispy. This particular version was mixed with feta cheese and sesame seeds and flavoured with dill and spices. However, I was informed that some recipes use mint. And to complement the flavours of the ketokeftedes was a side of regular tzatziki sauce and some warm honey tzatziki drizzle. I can vouch it’s a yummy combination! The dill gives the ketokeftedes a unique flavour, like an unexpected but happy surprise for your taste buds, and the creamy tzatziki is just refreshing!

Like many other areas in the Mediterranean, the Greek also have mezes, which are platters full of dips, spreads and small, bite-sized pieces of food. What I want to highlight in the meze below is the pink blob on the top. It’s a dip called taramosalata.

Taramosalata is a very smooth mashed potato mix made with red caviar (which gives it that rosey hue), onions and extra virgin olive oil. It goes great as a dip with pita bread and isn’t fishy tasting at all. It’s also something different to try from your typical Greek dips, in case you want to change it up. 🙂

Even though I missed out on several Greece trips, I’m hoping I will be able to finally hop over to Greece by the end of next year. I can only hope when I do, I’ll be bouncing from island to island, chowing down on their delicious food while watching the beautiful blue skies go by and the waves of the Mediterranean sea wash ashore…

9 thoughts on “Mezes, Ketokeftedes and Taramosalatas – Oh My!

    • Rini says:

      That’s so sweet of you to say, Tracey. 🙂 I can only imagine! It probably enhances the experience when you get to enjoy their culinary delights surrounded by beautiful scenery.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

