Fish Head Soup (Recipe)

I know this sounds like an April Fools joke, but I swear it isn’t! Fish head soup is a great way to use those fish heads and a more economical way to get fish into your system by using parts other than the typical steaks or whole fish. It’s also surprisingly tasty – once you get over the fact its a head with eyeballs looking at you! And the best part is it’s a one-pot meal that’s very simple to make.

Ingredients:

6-8 pieces of salmon fish heads
Oil for cooking
Salt for seasoning
4-5 slices of ginger (to help reduce that fishy smell!)
3 cups chicken broth
1 cup water
2 cups of spinach, clean and strained

First, wash the fish heads by sprinkling salt generously over the pieces and then rinsing it off with water to get ride of that fishy slime. Then, heat a pan on high with some cooking oil and add the fish heads.

Cook all sides of the fish just to brown the outer layer and reduce the fishy smell. While cooking, add a sprinkle of salt over the fish. Throw in the pieces of ginger to reduce that fishy smell even more and add the chicken broth mixed with some water into the pan.

Bring the liquid to a boil and continue cooking until the fish. Just a minute before it’s almost done, add the spinach and stir.

When the spinach has wilted and the salmon is cooked, pour it into a big communal bowl for sharing.

Add a ladle and that’s it. It’s good to go. Sometimes I like to add some rice into my bowl to make it a bit more filling, but there’s plenty of protein and omega-3s in this meal. If you’re courageous enough, I dare you to eat the eyeball. 😉

I know this may sound gross to some, but if you love salmon you’ll love this easy-to-make soup. You can easily buy fish heads and have them pre-chopped by your local fish monger. Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Fish Head Soup (Recipe)

  1. annika says:

    I love salmon but seeing the head on my plate is not my cup of tea. I know it’s done in many parts of the world. On occasion, my parents cooked the entire fish (but they removed the eyeballs) and I have been served this at a Greek friend’s house…I think I have had my share!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

