Red Bean Tea (Adzuki Bean Tea)

These days, it seems like you can make a tea out of anything. Dandelions, fruit and now red beans. However, I guarantee it isn’t a new product. Red beans have been used for centuries in various desserts, snacks and dishes, especially in Asia.

This little red bean is also known as an adzuki bean. It’s not to be confused with kidney beans, which also goes by the same name as “red bean”. Perhaps I have been ignorant about it’s existence, but my friend introduced me to this non-caffeinated tea. It’s supposed to help make your skin beautiful and who doesn’t want that? I’m also always on the search for non-caffeinated teas and this just so happens to fit the criteria. 🙂

Taking a sip of this lightly flavoured tea, it tasted very much like drinking the liquid form of an unsweetened red bean. It had this roasted, deep aromatic red bean flavour and a golden-brown hue. It’s definitely not your typical orange pekoe or herbal tea!

It’s an interesting tea to have, though I’m sure it’s an acquired taste. I found with this particular brand, it takes a while for all the flavours to come out so I just kept refilling the cup with hot water. However, you can also steep the bag in a thermos too and drink to your heart’s content. There’s also the option of making it into a cold drink with the simple help of a few ice cubes. 

What interesting tea flavours have you had recently? 🙂

 

13 thoughts on “Red Bean Tea (Adzuki Bean Tea)

  1. annika says:

    What?! I would have never imagined! I know this bean very well.. I sprout it and then cook it. Is the tea simply the bean (crushed up I imagine) or has it been processed in some way?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rose says:

    Wow, this is so cool. I’ve never seen this before. Yeah, I bet it would be an acquired taste. I wonder if I would like it… Guess I would have to try one to know for sure. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

