Mysore Masala Dosa

I know how it sounds, but “mysore” isn’t really “my sore” at all. It’s more like “my joy”, as a delicious chutney filling in a dosa.

A dosa is a South Indian dish that is a paper thin crepe. It is traditionally made of lentil and rice flour batter, but these days it can be made with other ingredients. Similar to a crepe, it is poured onto a hot, flat iron surface and is spread out into a round shape. It is cooked until it has a nice sandy golden colour and has a soft, yet crispy texture to it. Although many doses are frequently rolled into circular tubes, the one above was folded into a triangle like your typical French crepe.

I always choose a mysore masala dosa, which is made with spices, onions and potatoes. It’s so good that I’m convinced it’s one of the most popular types, but dosas can also be filled with paneer (cheese) or be simply spread with a little ghee (clarified butter).

As delicious as it is on its own, it is accompanied with several sauces to add a variety of flavours to your tongue. The first sauce is called sambar, which is the soupy one. You can dip the dosa into it or drink it with a spoon. My friend said some even drink sambar when they have colds or eat it with rice (It reminds me of a vegetable soup, so I can see why). The other two sauces are chutneys, where the white one is coconut and the orangey-red one has some spice to it. I actually haven’t had a dosa in so long that this little outing reminded me how good they were. I’ll have to add it back into my rotation. 🙂


In other news, remember when I went to look for cherry blossoms and it didn’t go so well? I tried again a few days later and unlike my second attempt, I found some fully bloomed trees.

I think I can finally deem this a success?!?!?!

18 thoughts on “Mysore Masala Dosa

  1. annika says:

    Haha… I’m dying here. Being Indian, I never thought of it as “my sore”… but now that’s all I read when I see it! I do love this dosa! The cherry blossom looks spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. AG says:

    Awesome post. The difference between regular masala dosa and Mysore masala dosa is before stuffing the masala (spices+onions+potatoes), a thin layer of orangey-red chutney is applied on top of the crepe. And, Mysore is a place in South India and this dosa got the name from there.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alice says:

    I’ve recently discovered dosas, and I love it! Awesome close-up shots of it’s delicious-ness!!! I went to see the blossoms on the peak of it’s days (the very first…) and let me tell you, it was difficult not getting any people in my shot! Hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

