Azorean Style Corn

When I was in the Azores (Portugal), my guide said that there was something special about the corn there. While I gave a dozen guesses, I couldn’t figure it out. The suspense! I found cooking an Azorean Cozido pretty neat, so I was anticipating on the secrets of this Azorean corn. Eventually, he brought me to this location.

It’s a hot spring called a “caldeira”, which is Portugese for “boiler” and it is naturally heated by active volcanoes. At first it was a bit of a head scratcher why he brought me here because half a day elapsed after the corn topic, but do you see the connection?

Azorean style corn is basically the way they cook it! They take corn, throw it into bags and cook it in the boiling mineral water! The result after an hour of boiling is some super soft and sweet corn on the cob. Even the birds love it (if you’re so kind enough to spare them some kernels :)). 

Mineral water is full of iron. Only a limited number of people are licensed to cook the corn like this on the Azores and sell them on the street. It was very enjoyable and steaming hot! Interestingly enough, my guide led us to the source of the water (a colder version) that was drinkable. Mineral water full of iron? When in Rome…..or the Azores in this case. 

Taking a sip from the first pipe, I wasn’t a huge fan. He suggested I try the second one, which contained more minerals. Let’s just say when I took a sip I felt like I licked a metal pipe and gagged. Oddly, it was naturally carbonated and is apparently good for digestion!  No regrets! And upon my random stumbles, look what I found:

It’s not what I thought it meant though. My guide said it meant narrow grotto or something along those lines. Oh well. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Azorean Style Corn

    • Rini says:

      I know. I was hesitant when I saw it, but I survived to tell about it. 😉 Truthfully the water is clear, it’s just when the minerals stick it looks orange. 🙂

      Like

    • Rini says:

      It’s funny you mention that because the topic of Asian tourists came up during my travels and how they should be marketing the hot springs more. Overall, I didn’t see many there, but I can see the potential.

      The owakudani tamago has an intriguing look to it. I can’t imagine it having much impact on the taste of the egg, but marketing it as a treat that is hard to come by and lengthens your longevity is a smart strategy to get people to visit there. I guess it’s something for me to think about when I eventually make it over to Japan. Thanks for the share!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Tracey O'Brien says:

    It sounds like you had a fabulous time in Portugal, Rini. Such a fascinating and beautiful country. And I love corn on the cob. What an interesting way to cook it. Not sure I would have tasted the water either. You are so brave!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

